Early Life

June 28, 2009 Bionic Geek chic
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I was born with Ushers Syndrome – a rare genetic disorder involving a profound loss of hearing, balance and vision problems.  I was diagnosed with the hearing loss at 18 months old.   I started wearing hearing aids by 2 years old and started going to school soon after that.

By age 3 I was miserable because I could not communicate.  My dad and mom talked to my teacher and they decided I needed sign language.   I learned very quickly to communicate with SEE “Sign Exact English”.   I attended to Pre-School for hearing impaired.

I started to learn ASL at age 10 half years old at deaf school.    I learned very quickly to communicate with ASL.  After my dad died of cancer until 5 months before I was diagnosed at 15 half years old with Retinitis Pigmentosa and that also meant Usher’s Syndrome.    I will not able to drive.  I became angry and depress.  My dad never know that I have it.

I will update my story about Usher’s Syndrome when I was in deaf school.   It was the worse memories ever I had.  The post is coming soon.

Entry Filed under: ASL - American Sign Language,communicate,Deaf School,diagnosed,hearing aids,Hearing Impaired,profound hearing loss,rare genetic disorder,Retinitis pigmentosa,school,SEE - Sign Exact English,Sign Language,Teacher,Usher Syndrome

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. amy  |  July 6, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Tomorrow!!!!!!! Can’t wait!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

June 2009
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
